NY.com
 
 
 

 American Premiere of "The Dybbuk" by Julia Pascal Opens on Aug. 10th

Posted: July 18, 2010 at 10:22 pm; By: Editor  

The American premiere of "The Dybbuk" by Julia Pascal opens on August 10th at the Johnson Theater. A description of the production from the show's web page:

The Dybbuk is a modern play inspired by Solomon Anski’s great Yiddish classic. Pascal’s Dybbuk starts in Germany where Judith, a British atheist Jew, looks at today’s Germany and feels that Hitler has won. Judith is haunted by thoughts of her lost family and this leads her in to a dream world haunted by ghosts - or dybbuks.

She imagines a ghetto somewhere in Eastern Europe where five non-religious Jews live their final day before transportation to Auschwitz. In this ghetto, the five Jews argue, discuss cabbala, love, sex and death, relate fragments of their lives, play out half remembered scenes from the myth of The Dybbuk (which inspired Anski) and dream of full bellies.

The actual Dybbuk myth is encapsulated in a play world which the Jews walk in and out of, where finally the possession of the young girl’s body by the spirit of her dead lover, is evoked in a four minute Expressionist dance.

The show is 90 minutes long, tickets are $15, and is part of the Dream Up Festival. The following is a schedule of performances:

  • Tuesday, August 10 at 7:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 12 at 7:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 14 at 2:00 PM
  • Monday, August 16 at 7:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 17 at 7:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 19 at 7:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 21 at 2:00 PM
  • Monday, August 23 at 7:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 24 at 7:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 25 at 7:00 PM

Theater for the New City
155 First Avenue
New York, NY Box office: (212) 864-4500

Website

http://www.pascal-theatre.com/


Follow us on Twitter