From Rocky to Pataki : Character and Caricatures in New York Politics
by Hy Rosen, Peter Slocum, Daniel Patrick Moynihan, Alfonse M. D'Amato

"Covering New York State politics from the late 1950s to the late 1990s, Peter Slocum offers frank - and not always flattering - stories from more than fifty political players, while Hy Rosen's editorial cartoons paint a portrait of the Empire State as it soared under the grand dreams of Rockefeller, nearly went bust in the aftermath, and struggled to bounce back in the nineties. Interviews with Governors Hugh Carey, Mario Cuomo, and George Pataki; New York City mayors Ed Koch and John Lindsay; and Senators Alfonse D'Amato and Daniel Patrick Moynihan highlight this powerful look at four decades of political ups and downs in Albany."



The President of the US, the Country's chief executive, prepares the executive budget, oversees execution and enforcement of federal laws and acts as Commander-in-Chief of the country's military and naval forces. George W. Bush is our current President.

Members of Congress

Congress, which is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives, is part of the legislative or law making branch of the government. Members of Congress are elected by the people of the state they represent. Main duties of Congress include declaring war on other countries, regulating interstate and foreign commerce, and controlling federal taxing and spending policies. The Congress also keeps an eye on the executive branch and its agencies, such as the Department of Defense and the Department of Justice.

U.S. Senate

The 100 member Senate (2 from each state) votes on presidential treaties, presidential nominations for cabinet officers, Supreme Court justices, and ambassadors. The Senate also has the power to hold a trial for a government official who commits a crime against the country. Senators are elected for six-year terms and must be residents of the state from which they are elected. New York's current senators are Hillary Clinton, Democrat and Charles E. Schumer, Democrat.

House of Representatives

The House of Representatives has control over creating new tax laws and deciding if a government official should be put on trial by the Senate. Each member of the 435 member House represents a congressional district in their home state; they are elected for two-year terms and must be residents of the state from which they are elected.

Check for a list of the current members from New York.

Federal Election Commission

The six member Federal Election Commission enforces the provisions of the Federal Election Campaign Act, the statute that governs the financing of federal elections such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and oversees the public funding of Presidential elections. The members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Each member serves a six-year term, and two seats are subject to appointment every two years. No more than three Commissioners can be members of the same political party, and at least four votes are required for any official Commission action. The Chairmanship of the Commission rotates among the members each year, with no member serving as Chairman more than once during his or her term. --

see Local Government information... | see State Government information...